Sign In
  • UD Search
Toggle Navigation

Open the Navigation Management window, which can be used to view the full current branch of the menu tree, and edit it.

CONNECT
  • Facebook

MITRA Forum Question Details

Image Picker for Section 0

ForumQuestion

• KILZ as sealer for panelsApproveRejectUn-ApproveSubscribeUn-Unsubscribe
    Question asked 2017-05-02 13:49:43 ... Most recent comment 2017-05-02 21:04:28
    Question

​Hi.  I'm an oil painter considering using KILZ 2, (latex water-based primer, sealer and stain blocker composed of  Titanium dioxide, Nepheline Syenite, Limestone) as a sealer for maple panels.  I will use 4 or more coats of acrylic gesso (either Golden or Art Board) after the KILZ.  I hear that KILZ is a good seal for panels but also know that industrial grade materials aren't always tested/recommended if the intention is to build an archival surface.  Do you recommend KILZ or should I stick with GAC 100?  Thank you. 

Answers and Comments
  • EditDeleteModerator Answer

We have to be honest here and say that we have no idea if this is a material that would be considered permanent as a sealer/sizing coat. It may be great, but it is neither made, nor tested for this purpose. I would stick with GAC 100 or 400 to be safe. I would personally use GAC 400 on panels, as it is less gummy and more rigid.

Brian Baade
    2017-05-02 15:00:23
  • ApproveRejectUn-ApproveUser Comment

​Thank you for the quick response!  

2017-05-02 15:05:25
  • EditDeleteModerator Answer

​Most of the Kilz water-borne products are made using styrenated acrylic copolymer, not 100% acrylic dispersion base. In architectural coatings, this is usually for sake of economy, as the generally better performing 100% acrylic is more costly. Also, house paints are made using plasticizers and coalescents that would not normally be used in artists' painting grounds. 

Matthew Kinsey, Utrecht Art Supplies
    2017-05-02 21:04:28
Page Settings and MetaData:
(Not Shown on the Page)